Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

I was given the assignment to write about a subject that is hot in my career field, so I chose to write about the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act also known as Obamacare. The law has been passed for over a year and a half and I feel that there are many questions that the average American still has no answers to. I find this to be pretty disturbing that all the time that was spent leading up to the voting for the law, passing, signing, Supreme Court ruling, and the reelection of the president the average American should be able to tell me the break down of the law. I am not talking about breaking it down to the paragraphs and the sentences, but at least what are the major parts that I should be aware of.

There are many who believe that the Law will cause healthcare insurance to go up, force small business to shut down and go out of business, change the hiring of employees from full time to part time positions, and cause the national debt to balloon to all time highs. But depending on your political party you may hear things that are the total opposite of my previous allegations. They will say that healthcare prices will drop by so many thousands of dollars, it will not hurt small business but instead help, and healthcare will cut the deficit, and quality of service will be better. So it is apparent that if someone wants to make a decision they need to do the research for themselves, which I found easier said then done.

After doing some reading and researching I found the basics of the law, which are that a child can stay on his or her parents insurance until the age of twenty six years of age which has started already. In the year of twenty fourteen no citizen can be turned away or dropped from their current policies for a preexisting condition or terminal illness. Also in twenty fourteen the full mandate will be implemented and everyone will be forced to have healthcare insurance or be fined. Business with more than fifty employees will be responsible for their employee’s health care benefits. So I did figure some of the basic things out but I am a firm believer that time will tell if this law will be a success or a failure. There are many unknowns that will have to be added and subtracted into the equation before we get the true story of the law. So all the assumptions of job lose and cost to the country’s deficit are only projections that can go either way depending on the laws acceptability by employers and the average citizen.

 

About lawrencemosley72

I am maried with children like (Al Bundy). I am retired Army and a term away fro getting my BAS in Business Administration with a concentration in IT Management.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment